Morning, you can kiss my booty.

Standard

It is a well known fact that I am not a morning person. In fact, it is so well known that when I offer a morning appointment to my hair clients they often ask, “are you SURE, honey?” I freely admit my aversions to early AM… but I can say that I really rock 11am – 2pm.

This particular morning found me getting up on the wrong side of the bed, both figuratively and literally. Grumbling, I made my way downstairs to get the mini ready for school. As fate would have it, my husband has the week off due to the extreme weather and was trying to be helpful getting both his girls on the road. What did I greet that poor man with? A scowl, maybe a growl, as I stomped downstairs desperately seeking my much loved kitchen gadget, my french press coffee maker. Still growling under my breath, I realize I am even too grouchy to make any coffee… morning, you’re a hag.

Fortunately for all those who had to be around me, after dropping the mini off at preschool I made my way to get my morning jolt a.k.a. attitude adjustment. And, that’s when the day started to turn around… dramatically.

While having a lazy breakfast at the local Denny’s, I ran into a high school classmate I hadn’t seen in several years. The most wonderful thing about running into a friend like that is despite the length of time we’d not seen each other, we always pick right back up as if we’d seen one another yesterday. It certainly didn’t hurt me that this friend told me I looked fantastic (the scowl was fading). This friend has always been great at making me feel good about being me… and totally not in a creepy way. Well, most of the time.

And the day just kept getting better… I made a stop on my way to work for flowers. I used to go once a week to get my floral fix – something I did in lieu of smoking cigarettes. If you’ve been around me the past few months, you’d already know I continue to struggle with giving those little bastards up. As always, the manager of the flower shop set me up with a gorgeous bundle of fresh cut beauty. But, as I waited, they got a FedEx delivery… and as fate would have it, that delivery man was also a long-missed friend I hadn’t seen in years! I got a bear hug, caught up a bit, and another compliment. Really, these guys in my life sure know how to make a girl feel pretty. I think I’ll declare FedEx as my preferred shipper now…

So, morning can kiss my booty but mid afternoon gets an enthusiastic high-five.

Leave a Reply

